Inside and outside of Oakland

Snyder speech triggers new committees

  A day after Gov. Rick Snyder's State of the State address, the Michigan House of Representatives is creating three new subcommittees to "hone in on issues that require more attention," a news release said.

  "There are several issues that will require significant attention and rapid action," said House Speaker Jase Bolger, R-Marshall. "The subcommittees will now be able to delve into those issues while the full committees continue with their aggressive workload."
  Newly created is the Subcommittee on Agricultural Processing. The chair is Rep. Cindy Denby, R-Handy Township. Members include Rep. Joel Johnson, R-Clare, Rep. Bruce Rendon, R-Lake City, Rep. Charles Brunner, D-Bay City, and Rep. Marcia Hovey-Wright, D-Muskegon.
  Also created was the Subcommittee on Economic Development and Trade. The chair is Rep. Sharon Tyler, R-Niles. Members include Rep. Ben Glardon, R-Owosso, Rep. Mike Shirkey, R-Clarklake, Rep. Jon Switalski, D-Warren, and Rep. John Olumba, D-Detroit.
  The third is the Subcommittee on Forestry and Mining. The chair is Rep. Mike Huuki, R-Atlantic Mine. Members include Rep. Peter Pettalia, R-Presque Isle, and Rep. Harold Haugh, D-Roseville.
Bolger also announced the membership of constitutional and statutory committees today.
  The Capitol Committee members are Schmidt (Chair), Majority Floor Leader Jim Stamas (Vice Chair), R-Midland, Rep. Holly Hughes, R-Montague, Rep. Joan Bauer (Minority Vice Chair, D-Lansing, and Rep. Thomas Stallworth, D-Detroit.
  The House Fiscal Agency Governing Board members are House Appropriations Chair Chuck Moss, R-Birmingham (Chair), Bolger (Vice Chair), Stamas; Rep. Richard LeBlanc (Minority Vice Chair), D-Westland, Democratic Leader Rick Hammel, D-Mt. Morris Township, and Democratic Floor Leader Kate Segal, D-Battle Creek.
  The Joint Committee on Administrative Rules members are Rep. Rick Olson (Chair), R-Saline, Rendon (Vice Chair), Rep. Ken Horn, R-Frankenmuth, Rep. Bob Constan, (Minority Vice Chair), D-Dearborn Heights, and Rep. Barb Byrum, D-Onondaga.
   The Legislative Council members are Bolger (Chair), Stamas (Vice Chair), Speaker Pro-Tem John Walsh, R-Livonia, Moss, Rep. Mark Meadows (Minority Vice Chair), D-East
Lansing, and Rep. Stacy Erwin Oakes, D-Saginaw.

No comments:

Post a Comment