Inside and outside of Oakland

About Oakland County

Oakland County is one of 83 counties in southeast Michigan, located north of Detroit.

At roughly 910 square miles, it is not the largest geographic county in the United States; there are many larger in the arid Southwest of the United States. However, it is three-quarters the size of the country's smallest state, Rhode Island, and has a lot of local governments that make elections both fascinating and sometimes confusing.

Within its borders are 61 cities, villages and townships, 28 school districts, a county government and other agencies with taxing authority that occasionally require permission from voters. Oakland County voters also have a hand in picking the state's representatives in Congress, the governor, secretary of state, attorney general, and state Legislature.

Michigan will have 14 seats in the U.S. House of Representatives beginning in 2013. Four of those seats are located partially in Oakland County.

The state has 110 members in the state House of Representatives, of which 14 represent parts of Oakland County. Michigan has 38 state senators, of whom five represent Oakland County.

Countywide elected officers include the county executive, prosecutor, water resources commissioner, clerk, treasurer, sheriff and 25 county commissioners.

We hope you enjoy using and reading these pages as much as we enjoyed putting them together. They will continue to evolve and your suggestions are welcome. They can be emailed to

No comments:

Post a Comment